DataCite Board


Along with DataCite’s members, the Executive Board is the governing body of the association. The Executive Board consists of a President, four Vice Presidents (one of them being the Deputy President) and a Treasurer. One member of the Executive Board is an ex-officio representative of the Business Office. Members of the Executive Board are elected by members at the annual General Assembly and serve for a period of two years.

Board members

Board wilma

Wilma van Wezenbeek (President)

Wilma van Wezenbeek is the director of TU Delft Library, a strong advocate for Open Access, Open Research, and fair research data management. TU Delft Library works together with Surfsara and DANS in RDNL.

Board adam

Adam Farquhar (Deputy President)

Adam Farquhar is Head of Digital Scholarship at the British Library, where he focuses on establishing services for scholars and researchers that take full advantage of the possibilities that digital collections present.

Board john

John Chodacki (Treasurer)

John Chodacki is responsible for overseeing the strategic planning, development, and operational management of the California Digital Library’s digital curation group, UC3 (University of California Curation Center).

Board mike

Mike Frame

Mike Frame is Chief Scientific Data Integration and Visualization at USGS. He participates in a number of interagency cyberinfrastructure, data integration, and scientific activities. He is also Adjunct Professor at the U. of Tennessee.

Board mark

Mark Hahnel

Mark Hahnel is the founder of figshare, a repository where users can make all of their research outputs citable, shareable and discoverable. He has a PhD in stem cell biology at Imperial College London.

Board marco

Marco Marsella

Marco Marsella is Senior Advisor Global Information System at FAO, where he contributes to the design of the system and the promotion of DOIs in the Plant Genetic Resources community.

Board salvatore

Salvatore Mele

Salvatore Mele is head of Open Access at CERN, where he co-architected the SCOAP3 initiative. His team develops solutions for Open Data and runs INSPIRE, a global Open Access digital library for High-Energy Physics.

Board karen

Karen Morgenroth (Deputy President)

Karen Morgenroth is Manager of Information Management Operations at the National Research Council Canada, where her teams focus on digital information management, repositories and open government initiatives.

Board irina

Irina Sens (ex-officio)

Irina Sens is the Deputy Director at the German National Library of Science and Technology (TIB). She led the German project “Registration of Scientific primary data” and was responsible for the introduction of DOI.

contact the board

If you want to contact the DataCite board members, please e-mail